The Start of the Cleanup

Countdown to live

--
Days
--
Hours
--
Minutes
--
Seconds

The day has come to celebrate the beginning of the end of the infamous Great Pacific Garbage Patch. On Wednesday, October 20th, The Ocean Cleanup welcomes back the offshore crew after a successful 12-week testing campaign in the Pacific that has led to proof of technology for our ocean cleanup design. With System 002 and plastic onboard, we will take a brief pause at the Victoria Harbor to celebrate the dedication of our team and supporters before returning to the patch. There is no time to waste – cleanup is possible and it is imminent. We can do this – and we invite you to join us.

Watch the livestream at 1 PM PST | 4 PM EST | 10 PM CEST on October 20th.

Watch live on October 20th

Location and Schedule

Watch it live or join on location (Dallas Road, Pier B., Ogden Point, Victoria, BC, Canada). All times in local PST time.

  • 9:25 AM – 10:30 AM Marine parade organized by Victoria Esquimalt Harbour Society. Optimal viewing location along Dallas Road, Victoria Canada.
  • 11:00 AM Doors open to the cruise terminal and public indoor exhibition
  • 11:30 AM – 12:30 PM┬áMeet and greet with The Ocean Cleanup crew

LIVE

  • 1:00 PM – 1:15 PM Remarks from Founder and CEO Boyan Slat
  • 1:15 PM – 1:30 PM Press Q&A

END OF LIVE


  • 1:30 PM – 2:00 PM (press only) Select media visit onboard Maersk Tender